Roga Pariksha – Study of the disease

by trueayurveda

Roga Pariksha – Study of the disease

Rogi Pariksha – Study of the patient – The patient. They are not a bundle of disease, they are much more than that. They are a living human being, they’re not dead yet. Some remainder of health exists. The degree of health remaining even with the disease is important. The health of a person is assessed first, then the disease. This is the focus of ayurveda.

There is a 10 fold path of patient examination called the Dashavidha Pariksha, but Prakruti and Nadi have received disproportionate attention in the West which is absolutely not enough to determine overall examination. Others include Saara – the 8 kinds of Saarana/Dhatus, Shatu – the mind and Vayana – the aging rate. Ex. If 2 patients come with the same disease, but one is aging fast and the other is aging slow. When the rate of aging (Vayana Karana) is fast, there will be a different disease expression than if slow.

It is neither possible nor necessary to give names to every disease as innumerable names would be required. But it is important to know the NATURE of the illness. One name for a disease only leads to one type of treatment only approach.

There are no shortcuts in Ayurveda. One examines the disease using 6 methods with the emphasis being on talking to the patient. Interrogative approach is taking history and examining the patient.

A detailed interrogation consists of many questions, but the most important factor is that the physician and the patient should have an intense rapport. If the doctor cannot enter into the Atman of the patient, they cannot understand and they will not heal. A widespread patient interrogation needs to happen. The patient’s family is important, it shows so much in the lifestyle of the person. There are so many things you will not hear that are pertinent to their treatment if one only talks about the disease. This is so opposite to the Western model of spending more time in the waiting room than with the doctor who spends five minutes with you, writes down a prescription and sends you away.

The 8 fold examination of the patient is in order to reach a  judgement in order to know the PHENOMENON of the disease, not just the name of the disease. It is to find out what is the pattern of disorder of each of the following – 3 doshas, 7 dhatus, Srotas and Agnis.

Ojas – Parama Tejas/Greatest light, shining, brilliance – of all 7 dhatus – from Rasa to Shukra. Modern science says that Matter and Energy are the same. They are missing the boat.

Para Ojas and Apara Ojas

  • Para Ojas consists of the 8 drops of Ojas located in the heart, without which you would immediately die. 8 drops indicates a small amount, or subtle and minute. If it is strong, it protects you from diseases.
  • Apara Ojas is the bulk amount of Ojas, symbolic measurement of ½ and Anjali. Even if this is depleted, will not cause death. This is the gross form of Ojas and compares loosely to immunity.

Rasayana Tantra – one of the 8 branches of Ayurveda. This branch is mostly dedicated to promoting Ojas through lifestyle, therapy and dietary manners. Ojas Bala is ojas strengthening material.

There are 3 kinds of Bala (Immunities), and 3 kinds of Bala (strength.)

  • Sahaja – given by birth, one is born with it
  • Yukti-Kruta – induced by planning, artificial strength that is created
  • Kalaj – given by age, time

If you try to increase ojas in someone with a disease but with lots of ojas, it will cause a disorder.


Laisser un commentaire

Entrez vos coordonnées ci-dessous ou cliquez sur une icône pour vous connecter:


Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Google+

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Google+. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Image Twitter

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Twitter. Déconnexion /  Changer )

Photo Facebook

Vous commentez à l'aide de votre compte Facebook. Déconnexion /  Changer )


Connexion à %s